Ruth Braunstein and Don Reitz were both Inducted as honorary members of our organization today. Honorary members are individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the professional development of the ceramic arts. The program guide includes summaries of all our honorees. The experience of seeing these amazing people accepting their awards and listening to their delightful stories goes far beyond the blurb in the book. Ruth Braunstein was funny and down to earth. Don Reitz’s words were truly inspirational.
Two exceptional teachers, Chuck Hindes and Jack Troy were honored with the excellence in teaching award. Their students and former students made their presence known rather loudly and proudly!
An outstanding achievement award was given to Bill Strickland. Strickland also appears right here on our website in the video at the left. He is “a tireless and inspiring advocate for the arts, education, community development and human dignity,” said NCECA President Patsy Cox.
Jean Griffith received the regional award of excellence. As the founder of the vibrant studio Pottery Northwest, she has introduced thousands to clay over her 30 years as its director.
Having the opportunity to hear these wonderful people truly inspired me, and I feel very fortunate to walk among them.